Skip to content
Pickleball Figures Subscribe

Redding’s Eight Indoor Courts Have a Target, Not an Opening Date

Gail Hutchins

The Lake Boulevard club targets 2027, with eight indoor courts and city approval reported. See what is confirmed, what remains planned, and how to count it.

Redding Pickleball Club hopes to open its planned eight-court indoor facility in 2027, but the cited reporting does not confirm an opening day. In its September 9, 2026 report, KRCR said the club hoped to open “sometime next year”. That establishes a hoped-for opening year for the Lake Boulevard project in Redding, California—not a date when players can reserve a court.

Choose what you need to know; the result separates the opening target from confirmed availability.

Redding Project Status

2027 target; no confirmed opening day

The club hoped to open in 2027. The cited reports do not establish playable dates or a booking schedule.

EvidenceReported Status
OpeningHoped for in 2027; day unconfirmed
CourtsEight planned indoor courts
ApprovalUnanimous board approval reported for September 2, 2026
AccessPlanned membership club; prices and booking schedule not supplied

Sources: KRCR, September 9, 2026; Record Searchlight, September 3, 2026. These reports describe plans, not confirmed operating availability.

The Opening Target Is 2027, With No Confirmed Day

The year comes from the timing of KRCR’s report. “Sometime next year,” said in September 2026, means 2027. It should not be read as a rolling promise that changes whenever someone finds the article. Nor does it identify a month, a season or a first day of play.

The wording also matters. The club hoped to open in that window. Reporting that hope as “opening in 2027” without a qualification would turn a target into a commitment. The narrower wording—“targets 2027” or “hopes to open in 2027”—preserves what the source actually establishes.

There is no confirmed opening day in the cited reporting. There is also no booking schedule that would let a reader translate the target into a reservation. The absence of those details does not prove that the project is delayed; it means the available evidence does not support a more precise answer.

For someone deciding whether to plan a visit, the distinction is practical. A target year can guide when to look for another announcement. It cannot establish that a particular weekend, tournament date or recurring playing slot will be available. Those decisions require an operator announcement tied to actual access and booking arrangements.

City Approval Was Reported Before The Opening Target

Redding’s Board of Administrative Review unanimously approved the complex on September 2, 2026, according to the Record Searchlight’s September 3 report. That is a reported approval milestone, separate from the club’s hoped-for opening window.

The project is next to Grange Co-op on Lake Boulevard in north Redding. KRCR also describes the location as near Raley’s. These descriptions identify the project being discussed; they are not confirmation that an operating club is already welcoming players there.

The two reports support a short chronology:

Milestone Reported Timing What It Establishes
Board approval September 2, 2026 Complex approved, per Record Searchlight
Approval coverage September 3, 2026 Local reporting of that decision
Club interview September 9, 2026 Plans and hoped-for opening window
Opening target 2027 Intended year, not a confirmed day

Approval should not be substituted for opening in either a reader-facing directory or a court-growth dataset. The reported decision supports describing the project as approved. It does not establish that the courts are finished, that reservations are being accepted or that members have begun playing.

The cited reports also do not supply a construction schedule that connects the approval milestone to a specific opening day. Assigning a date from the approval alone would require information the draft does not contain. Keep the approval date and opening target in separate fields rather than letting one stand in for the other.

Eight Indoor Courts Are Planned, Not Verified As Operating

The announced facility has eight planned indoor pickleball courts. KRCR’s interview with club partner Charlie Hauser supplies the facility details and describes a membership-club model. These are plans for the intended venue, not an inventory of completed courts available for play.

Item Reported Plan Availability Evidence
Pickleball courts Eight indoor courts Opening not confirmed
Court layout Fenced and divided Described as planned
Recording Cameras to record play Described as planned
Access Membership club Terms not supplied

The eight-court figure can be retained confidently as the reported project size. What cannot be retained without qualification is an implication that Redding already has eight additional operating indoor courts because the project was announced or approved.

That distinction applies to the layout and cameras as well. Fenced and divided courts describe how the club intends to organize play. Cameras are a reported planned feature. Neither detail independently verifies the facility’s completion or opening, and the cited reporting does not explain how players would obtain recordings or what any recording service would cost.

For a facility listing, “eight planned indoor courts” is therefore more accurate than “eight available indoor courts.” A listing can include the project before opening, but its status needs to remain visible wherever the court count appears. Otherwise, readers may reasonably interpret the number as playable capacity rather than a proposed addition.

The Club Model Does Not Establish Public Access

The project is described as a membership club, not a free municipal facility. That is a meaningful access distinction even before prices and eligibility rules are published. It identifies the intended model without answering every question about who will be allowed to play.

The cited report does not provide membership prices. It also does not provide a booking schedule. Those gaps prevent a useful cost comparison or a claim that a reader can already secure a playing time. No membership fee, court rental rate or reservation window should be inferred from the facility’s size or planned amenities.

“Membership club” also does not, by itself, settle guest access. The cited material does not establish whether nonmembers will be able to book, whether guests will need a member sponsor or whether any public sessions will be offered. The defensible description stays at the reported level: a planned membership facility, with detailed access terms still unconfirmed in these sources.

This matters when comparing the project with public park courts. Both may contribute to the area’s eventual pickleball capacity, but they do not necessarily serve the same players on the same terms. An indoor membership court cannot be treated as interchangeable with a free public court merely because both have pickleball lines and nets.

The Other Amenities Remain Part Of The Plan

Alongside the courts, KRCR reported plans for two golf simulators, a lounge, a pro shop and lockers. These details help describe the proposed club, but they do not narrow the opening window or establish what will be available on the first day of play.

Amenity Reported Quantity Status In The Reporting
Golf simulators Two Planned
Lounge Not specified Planned
Pro shop Not specified Planned
Lockers Not specified Planned

The simulator count is the only numerical quantity supplied for these additional amenities. The draft does not provide the number of lockers, the size of the lounge or the extent of the pro shop. Leaving those figures unspecified is more useful than filling the gaps with assumptions about a typical club.

The amenities also should not be used to imply a membership package. Their inclusion in the plan does not establish that simulator use, equipment purchases or locker access will be included in a membership price. The cited reporting supplies neither prices nor package terms, so a budget for joining the club cannot yet be calculated from it.

Count The Project As Planned Indoor Capacity

For a court-growth tally, the supported entry is eight planned indoor courts at a membership club, with city approval reported. The reports do not justify adding those eight courts to an operating-court total.

A dataset that tracks future projects can include the club now, provided it preserves the project’s status. A dataset that counts only courts open for play needs different evidence: confirmation that the facility has opened. Those are different counting rules, not competing interpretations of the eight-court announcement.

The same separation applies to access categories. Confirmation of opening would support moving the courts into an operating inventory. Published access terms would establish how to classify their availability to members, guests or other players. Opening evidence alone would not transform a membership club into a free public facility.

Our guide to dedicated public courts versus total court counts explains why those categories should remain separate. For this project, the immediate issue is even earlier in the process: planned capacity must remain separate from operating capacity.

If a local tally already carries the Lake Boulevard proposal as a future project, an eventual opening announcement should change its status rather than create a second entry for the same eight courts. Otherwise, the same project could appear once in planned capacity and again in operating capacity without the original entry being retired or reclassified.

A Website Announcement Would Not Necessarily Mean Reservations

KRCR reported in September that the club hoped to have its website up within a few months. That was another forward-looking statement, not confirmation that the website, registration or reservations were already available.

The website timeline and the facility timeline should remain separate. A site could communicate plans or collect interest without offering playable court times. Conversely, the cited website expectation does not establish a particular launch date that can be used to calculate the club’s opening day.

For readers following the project, the useful distinction is between an information channel and an access announcement. A page describing eight courts would repeat the proposed facility size. A notice naming the first day of play and explaining how eligible players can book would answer a different, more actionable question.

The cited material contains no confirmed registration opening, reservation release or first playable session. That means there is no supported booking link or registration deadline to provide here. The reported website plan is worth retaining as a potential source of future operator information, but not as evidence that the club is taking bookings.

Plan Around An Announcement, Not The Target Year

Until a firmer announcement is available, treat 2027 as the club’s planning window. Before making a trip specifically to play at the Lake Boulevard facility, look for confirmation of the first day of play, membership or guest eligibility, prices, hours and booking arrangements. Each answers a question the current reports leave open.

An opening date would establish when play is intended to begin. Eligibility would establish whether a particular reader can use the courts. Prices and booking arrangements would establish the cost and whether a time can actually be secured. None of those details can be replaced by the court count or the approval milestone.

The supported answer remains narrow but useful: Redding Pickleball Club has reported city approval for a planned eight-court indoor membership facility, and its stated opening hope is 2027. The cited reporting does not establish a confirmed opening day or current availability for play.